News for faculty and staff

Contact | Past Issues

Week of September 20, 2010



Cheryl L. Soper, the university’s controller and director of financial operations, has received the 2010 Daniel D. Robinson Accounting Award from the National Association of College and University Business Officers. She was honored for her ongoing commitment to the advancement of college and university accounting and financial reporting through work with NACUBO’s Accounting Principles Council, external task forces, standard-setting organizations and the higher education community.

Analytical chemist Robert T. Kennedy, Hobart H. Willard Collegiate Professor of Chemistry, professor of chemistry, LSA, and professor of pharmacology, Medical School, is one of four scientists selected to receive the 2010 Technological Innovations in Neuroscience Award from the McKnight Endowment Fund for Neuroscience. Kennedy will receive $200,000 over two years to develop new methods to measure chemical signals in the brain.


Comprehensive Cancer Center researcher Dr. N. Lynn Henry is one of five new Damon Runyon Clinical Investigators. The Clinical Investigator Award program seeks to address the shortage of physicians capable of translating scientific discovery into breakthroughs for cancer patients. Recipients of these three-year awards from the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation are outstanding early career physician-scientists at major research centers. Henry will receive $450,000 to support her research.


Dr. Eve Kerr has been selected to participate in the Hedwig Van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Program for Women, a national leadership program for senior women faculty, for her exceptional leadership experience and academic accomplishments in health services research. She was nominated by the Medical School Dean’s Office for her role as the director of a Veteran Affairs Health Services Research and Development Center of Excellence in Ann Arbor and her potential for assuming future leadership positions at U-M.


Monica Rochman, graduate student instructor in the School of Nursing, has been appointed to the National Advisory Council for Nursing Education and Practice. The council advises the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the U.S. Congress on policy issues related to the Title VIII programs administered by the HRSA Bureau of Health Professions Division of Nursing, including nurse workforce supply, education and practice improvement.



Kevin Perkins, team leader, Planet Blue Teams, on the impression Planet Blue energy evaluations make on building users: “It makes you feel good when you see you’re getting their attention.”