The University Record, November 23, 1998


Social Work recognizes Berwald

Karen Berwald, research secretary III, received the School of Social Work’s Fall Term Recognition Award. Berwald is a “dedicated and loyal staff member who has worked tirelessly on the submission of grant proposals” for the School’s Office of Research Services.


Five faculty elected AAAS Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) elevated five U-M faculty to the rank of Fellow. Sid Gilman, Rowena Matthews, James Callan Gray Walker, Peter A. Ward, and John A. Williams were elected for their efforts in advancing science and/or for fostering applications deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.

Gilman is chair of the Department of Neurology and the William J. Herdman Professor of Neurology. Matthews is chair of the Biophysics Research Division and the G. Robert Greenberg Professor of Biological Chemistry. Walker is professor of atmospheric, oceanic and space sciences, and of geological sciences. Ward is chair of the Department of Pathology and professor of pathology. Williams is chair of the Department of Physiology and professor of internal medicine and of physiology.


Barsan elected president of emergency medicine board

William Barsan, head of the Section of Emergency Medicine in the Department of Surgery, has been elected president of the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM).

The ABEM establishes the examinations used to evaluate physicians who seek certification in emergency medicine. ABEM has more than 15,000 physicians.

“The main job of the Board is to provide a certification process for emergency medicine specialists,” Barsan says. “The public’s expectation is that certification is a measure of physician competence.”

Barsan has been head of the Section of Emergency Medicine at University Hospital since 1992.


Didier elected vice chair of MUCIA

Elaine Didier, interim director of academic outreach, was elected vice chair of the Midwest Universities Consortium for International Activities (MUCIA) for 1998–99. MUCIA is a consortium of 10 Big Ten institutions that collaborate on large-scale projects in developing countries.

Didier also was appointed to a three-year term on the Learning and Technologies Commission of the University Continuing Education Association, one of three national commissions guiding the future directions of the field.


Waller receives Highway Safety Award

Patricia Waller, director of the U-M Transportation Research Institute, received the James J. Howard Highway Safety Award from the National Association of Governors’ Highway Safety Representatives.


Waissi appointed ‘Honorary Consul of Finland’

Finland’s minister of foreign affairs Tara Halonen has appointed Gary R. Waissi, acting dean of the U-M-Dearborn School of Management, Honorary Consul of Finland. As honorary consul, Waissi will work to improve and foster relations, opportunities and exchange in the areas of commerce and trade, education, research and cultural relations between the United States and Finland. He also will serve the needs of Finnish and Finnish-American citizens in this region.

You can always drop us a line: