News for faculty and staff

Contact | Past Issues

Week of February 1, 2010


The following items were approved by the Board of Regents at its Jan. 21 meeting.

Capital outlay request submitted to the state

In December the Ann Arbor, Dearborn and Flint campuses each submitted annual requests for capital funding and a five-year capital plan to the State of Michigan. When capital outlay funding is made available for a university project by the state legislature and the governor, it usually provides two-thirds of the cost of a construction project. The Ann Arbor request is for the renovation of the G.G. Brown Laboratory Building for $64 million. The Dearborn request is to renovate the Science Building and the Computer Science Building with their shared infrastructure for $51 million. The Flint request is to renovate the labs and classrooms in the Murchie Science Laboratory Building for $22 million.

Ann Arbor campus

Faculty appointments and promotions with tenure

Frieda Ekotto, professor of French and professor of comparative literature, LSA, effective Jan. 1.

Heath Hofmann, associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science, College of Engineering (CoE), effective Jan. 1.

Administrative appointments

Deborah Loewenberg Ball, dean, School of Education, effective Sept. 1, 2010-June 30, 2010.*

Rosina Bierbaum, dean, School of Natural Resources and Environment (SNRE), effective Sept. 1, 2010-Aug. 31, 2011.*

David Brandon, Donald R. Shepherd Director of Intercollegiate Athletics, effective March 8, 2010-March 7, 2015.

Todd Endelman, acting director, Jean and Samuel Frankel Center for Judaic Studies, LSA, effective Jan. 1, 2010-May 31, 2010.

Daniel Fisher, acting director, Museum of Paleontology, LSA, effective Jan. 1, 2010-May 31, 2010.

Peter Green, chair, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, CoE, effective Sept. 1, 2010-Aug. 31, 2013.*

James Jackson, director, Institute for Social Research, effective July 1, 2010-June 30, 2015.*

Christopher Kendall, dean, and Paul Boylan Collegiate Professor of Music, School of Music, Theatre & Dance, effective Sept. 1, 2010-June 30, 2015.*

Bridget McCormack, associate dean for clinical affairs, Law School, effective April 1, 2010-March 31, 2013.*

Bryan Rogers, dean, School of Art & Design, effective July 1, 2010-June 30, 2012.*

Sidonie Smith, acting director, Institute for the Humanities, LSA, effective Jan. 1, 2010-April 30, 2010.

Kenneth Warner, dean, School of Public Health, effective July 1, 2010-Dec. 31, 2010.*

Named professorships

Richard Friedman, Alene and Allan F. Smith Professor of Law, Law School, effective March 1, 2010-Feb. 28, 2015.

Ivette Perfecto, George Willis Pack Professor, SNRE, effective Jan. 1, 2010-Dec. 31, 2014.

Flint campus

Randall Repic, chair, Department of Earth and Resource Science, College of Arts and Sciences, effective Jan. 1, 2010-June 30, 2010.

* Denotes reappointments



Teresa Herzog Mourad, on her favorite part of her job: “I am constantly inspired by changes people make in their alcohol-related attitudes and behaviors.”