News for faculty and staff

Contact | Past Issues

Week of March 8, 2010



Lynn Conway, professor emerita of electrical engineering and computer science, has been selected as the 2009 Computer Pioneer Award Recipient by the IEEE Computer Society. Conway was honored for contributions to superscalar architecture, including multiple-issue dynamic instruction scheduling, and for the innovation and widespread teaching of simplified VLSI design methods.

William Fulton, Oscar Zariski Distinguished University Professor of Mathematics, M S Keeler II Professor of Mathematics and professor of mathematics, LSA, has received the 2010 American Mathematical Society’s Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement, one of the highest distinctions in mathematics. Fulton was cited for many accomplishments, including his research, writing and for playing a pivotal role in shaping the direction of algebraic geometry.

Robert Griess, professor in the Department of Mathematics, has received the 2010 American Mathematical Society’s Leroy P. Steele Prize for a Seminal Contribution to Research. Griess is honored for his construction of the “Monster” sporadic finite simple group in 1981, without the aid of a computer. The AMS states the discovery of this group has touched science and mathematics deeply as connections have emerged with areas as diverse as string theory in physics and, within mathematics itself, in sophisticated number theory.



Dave Brenner, Web administrator and graphic designer, School of Natural Resources and Environment, on what he misses about Alaska: “…the large clear skies where you can see for hundreds of miles.”