News for faculty and staff

Contact | Past Issues

Week of March 22, 2010



U-M medical student Brandon Wojcik is one of 20 medical students nationwide to receive the 2010 Leadership Award from the American Medical Association Foundation for outstanding non-clinical leadership skills in advocacy, community service and education. The Saranac, Mich., native is in his second year pursuing a career in surgery at the Medical School.

Bram van Leer, professor in aerospace engineering, will receive the 2010 AIAA Fluid Dynamics Award for 2010. The award is presented for outstanding contributions to the understanding of the behavior of liquids and gases in motion as related to needs in aeronautics and astronautics. Van Leer was cited for seminal groundbreaking work in computational fluid dynamics, especially in the development of shock capturing methods, and outstanding contributions in aerospace education.

Joseph Krajcik, associate dean for research and professor of education, has been chosen by the National Association of Research in Science Teaching to receive its Distinguished Contributions to Science Education through Research award, the highest honor given by the organization. Krajcik was cited for leadership experience in directing multi-disciplinary research projects and important contributions to project-based science.

Robert Fishman, the Emil Lorch Collegiate Professor of Architecture and Urban Planning and professor at the Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning, has received the 2009 Laurence Gerckens Prize of the Society for American City and Regional Planning History. This is the organization’s highest award, in recognition of sustained excellence in the teaching of planning history.

Three surgeons from the U-M Health System’s sports medicine program MedSport have been recognized for their substantial contributions to orthopaedic sports medicine with top awards by the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine. Dr. Asheesh Bedi received the Cabaud Memorial Award for his research examining the kinematics of the knee after injury. Dr. Bruce Miller received the O’Donoghue Sports Injury Research Award for his study exploring ultrasound examinations after arthroscopic repairs in large shoulder rotator cuff tears. Dr. Jon Sekiya received the Excellence in Research Award for his paper on the effect of acetabular labrum tears on hip stability.

The American Dental Education Association recently presented three awards to individuals in the School of Dentistry. Dr. Marilyn Lantz, associate dean for academic affairs and professor in the Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine, received the ADEA/William Gies Foundation Education Fellowship. During the three-month fellowship she will work with staff in the ADEA Center for Educational Policy and Research on a project that addresses important issues in dental education. Russell Taichman, a professor of dentistry in the Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine, received the ADEA/Alpha Omega Foundation/Leonard Abrams Scholarship. The leadership development award recognizes an individual who exhibits excellence in teaching and upholds the highest ethical and professional standards. Evelyn Lucas-Perry, a third-year dental student who also is pursuing a master’s degree in public health, received an ADEA/Johnson & Johnson Healthcare Products Preventive Dentistry Scholarship, which supports predoctoral dental students who have demonstrated academic excellence in preventive dentistry.


Pamela Fowler, executive director of the Office of Financial Aid, has been elected as national chair of the National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators. She will serve as chair-elect for 2010-11 and as chair in 2011-12.

Anita Norich, professor of English language and literature and Judaic studies, Department of English Language and Literature, LSA, has been elected vice president of outreach for the Association for Judaic Studies board of directors. Norich was selected by a nominating committee and then elected by the membership. The AJS selected Norich because she is an active member of the AJS board, a prominent scholar of Jewish studies, and known for the high quality of her scholarly books and articles in Yiddish literature.


Pamela Moss, professor of education, has been selected a 2010 American Educational Research Association Fellow. Moss’s work focuses on validity theory in educational assessment, assessment as a social practice and the assessment of teaching. The AERA Fellows Program was established to honor education researchers with substantial research accomplishments, to convey the association’s commitment to excellence in research and to emphasize to new scholars the importance of sustained research of excellence in the field.

Charles Ransom, multicultural studies librarian, has been selected as a member of the National Conference on Race and Ethnicity in American Higher Education (NCORE) National Advisory Committee. This Committee sets the vision for the NCORE conference and implements that vision by making recommendations for the conference program, keynote speakers and special events.



Kimberly Green, medical assistant specialist, U-M Health System, on what she loves about lighthouses: “(They) were always there to help people in a time of darkness.”