News for faculty and staff

Contact | Past Issues

Week of April 30, 2012

Regents Roundup

The following items were approved by the Board of Regents at its April 19 meeting.

Renovations planned at the Law School

The Board of Regents approved the $7 million Law School Renovation Phase II project that will renovate approximately 30,000 gross square feet of space within Hutchins Hall and the William W. Cook Legal Research Library vacated by the opening of South Hall. The project will focus on updating the spaces and improving the overall organization of the school. The project will be funded by the Office of the Provost and the Law School and is scheduled to be completed next summer.


Named professorships

Dr. Paul S. Cederna, Robert Oneal Collegiate Professor of Plastic Surgery, Medical School, effective April 1, 2012-Aug. 31, 2016.

*Dr. William F. Chandler, Richard C. Schneider Professor of Neurosurgery, Medical School, effective Sept. 1, 2012-Aug. 31, 2017.

*Dr. Dee E. Fenner, Harold A. Furlong Professor of Women’s Health, Medical School, effective Sept. 1, 2012-Aug. 31, 2017.

*Richard F. Keep, Crosby-Kahn Collegiate Professor of Neurosurgery and Neuroanatomy, Medical School, effective Sept. 1, 2012-Aug. 31, 2017.

*Dr. Henry L. Paulson, Lucile Groff Chair of Neurology for Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders, Medical School, effective Aug. 1, 2012-July 31, 2017.

Richard W. Redman, Ada Sue Hinshaw Collegiate Professor of Nursing, School of Nursing, effective Sept. 1, 2012-Aug. 31, 2017.

*Dr. Benjamin M. Segal, Holtom-Garrett Family Professor of Neurology, Medical School, effective Sept. 1, 2012-Aug. 31, 2017.

*Dr. Cosmas J.M. Vandeven, J. Robert Wilson Collegiate Professor of Obstetrics, Medical School, effective Sept. 1, 2012-Aug. 31, 2017.

Administrative appointments

James A. Ashton-Miller, associate vice president for research, research policy and compliance, Office of the Vice President for Research, effective May 1, 2012-April 30, 2017.

Dondi L. Cupp, associate vice president for development, Office of University Development, effective May 9.

Ana V. Diez Roux, chair, Department of Epidemiology, School of Public Health, effective April 1, 2012-March 31, 2015.

Lorelle A. Meadows, assistant dean for academic programs, College of Engineering, effective April 1, 2012- Aug. 31, 2017.

Elizabeth B. Moje, acting dean, School of Education, effective May 1, 2012-Aug. 19, 2012.

Daryl C. Weinert, associate vice president for research — sponsored projects, effective May 1.

* Reappointments


Seong B. Hong, Rosalyn Saltz Collegiate Professor of Education, School of Education, effective Sept. 1, 2012-Aug. 31, 2017.

Pravansu S. Mohanty, Paul K. Trojan Collegiate Professor of Engineering, College of Engineering and Computer Science, effective Sept. 1, 2012-Aug. 31, 2017.

Anthony W. England, interim dean, College of Engineering and Computer Science, effective May 1, 2012-June 30, 2014.


Jason Evan Kosnoski, chair, Department of Political Science, College of Arts and Sciences, effective July 1, 2012-June 30, 2015.

Stevens F. Wandmacher, chair, Department of Philosophy, College of Arts and Sciences, effective July 1, 2012-June 30, 2015.


Shelley K. Perlove, professor of art history, College of Arts, Sciences and Letters, UM-Dearborn, effective April 30. She joined the university in 1984. Perlove is an internationally recognized expert on Renaissance art. She is the author of “Bernini and the Idealization of Death,” and co-author of “Rembrandt’s Faith: Church and Temple in the Dutch Golden Age.” It received the Roland H. Bainton Book Prize from the Sixteenth Century Society. She has been a special consultant for the Detroit Institute of Arts, the Musee du Louvre, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. She was instrumental in the development of the museum studies track in the art history major. Her awards include a National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Stipend, and UM-Dearborn’s Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award and Distinguished Faculty Research Award.

Roger Tourangeau, research professor in the Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, effective Dec. 31. He joined the faculty in 2000. Tourangeau is known for his research on the impact of different modes of data collection and on the cognitive processes underlying survey responses. He is the lead author of The “Psychology of Survey Response.” He has served as director of the Joint Program in Survey Methodology, sponsored by the University of Maryland and U-M. He received the Helen Dinerman Award, the highest honor given by the World Association for Public Opinion Research. Tourangeau also received the American Association for Public Opinion Research Innovators Award. He also was chair of the Survey Research Methods Section of the American Statistical Association in 2006, and served on the AAPOR executive council three times.



Krisztina Fehervary, assistant professor of anthropology, LSA, on her first visit as a child to Hungary: “Everything was so different and bizarre. It was just an upside-down world and I was fascinated with it.”


Center for Research on Learning and Teaching 50th Anniversary celebration opens with president’s panel, 9:30 a.m. May 4, Michigan Union Ballroom.

View Events
Submit Events